AUAS - NOGI Home Page  

NOGI Recipients
AUAS Officers & Directors
The Zale Parry Scholarship

Current NOGI winners

NOGI Awards Gala
Become a Sponsor
Contact Information
NOGI Award Anniversary

The 54th Annual
NOGI Awards Gala
November 20, 2014
Las Vegas, NV

At the LVF
(Former Las Vegas Hilton) Ballroom C,
Cocktails and Hors D'oeuvres 6:00pm
Dinner and Show
at 7:30 pm


:: NOGI Award from The Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences


Every year since 1960, a NOGI has been awarded (originally sanctioned by the Underwater Society of America, and later by the offspring ACADEMY OF UNDERWATER ARTS AND SCIENCES) to a select cadre of divers and undersea luminaries who rank at the top of their fields in one of four categories:

  • ARTS: Filmmakers, painters, photographers, sculptors and other artists who bring the majesty of the underwater world to people everywhere.

  • SCIENCE: Explorers, inventors, doctors and scientists whose work helps us understand, enjoy and protect our precious underwater realm.

  • SPORTS/EDUCATION: Outstanding athletes and teachers who make diving a safe, enjoyable and accessible activity for all who love the ocean.

  • DISTINGUISHED SERVICE: World-renowned as well as quiet achievers whose contributions keep the wheels of the diving industry and the global diving community turning.
In 2012 the Academy added a fifth NOGI for:
  • ENVIRONMENT: People who, beyond their normal paid job, advocated, studied, lobbied, or otherwise helped far beyond anyone else to protect the oceans and the life within.
Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences


In 1993, under the leadership of Mary Edith "Mel" Lillis and the late Harry Shanks, The Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences (AUAS) was created to administer the NOGI Award.


The AUAS is a 501(c)3 non-profit, international, multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to recognizing pioneers and leaders who have had a significant impact on the exploration, enjoyment, safety, and preservation of the underwater world. The AUAS is committed to supporting its members as they pass on the stewardship of the sea to future generations.


NOGI Award statue   The "NOGI" is the oldest and most prestigious award in the diving industry.

The current awardees for 2014 are:

Richard Ellis (Arts)

Lad Handelman (Distinguished Service)

Bill Macdonald (Environment)

Richard Vann (Science)

Mike Hollis (Sports/Education)

*Up until this year, the inductees were known by the year they were voted in, which originally was the same year that they received their statuette. Since we co-ordinate our gala dates and location with the DEMA trade show, which has drastically changed their dates, there is now a full year between the vote and the induction. As of 2014, the inductees will be known by the year they are inducted. The 2012 inductees will now have a group will have a dual date.

Home | The NOGI | Officers & Directors | Zale Parry Scholarship | Memorabilia | Current NOGI | Links of Interest
NOGI Awards Gala | Sponsorship Info | Contact Us

Copyright Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences