AUAS - NOGI Home Page  

NOGI Recipients
AUAS Officers & Directors
The Zale Parry Scholarship

Current NOGI winners

NOGI Awards Gala
Become a Sponsor
Contact Information
NOGI Award Anniversary

:: NOGI - History

NOGI Award  

The N.O.G.I. statuette was modified from an award formerly bestowed at the reknowned NewOrleans Grand Isle Fishing Tournament, which had an underwater division. The first recipients were world-class spearfishing champions in the 1950s. The Underwater Society of America was approached by Jay Albeanese and Louis Cuccia of New Orleans, who sought sanction of this award to annually recognize leaders in the field of skin and SCUBA diving.



The NOGI statuettes were originally designed and carved by the reknowned artist Vero Puccio of New Orleans. They were hand carved out of mahogany. In later years, he made a mold to produce them from polywood. The beautiful Lucite statuettes given today were designed by Wyland in 2005.


The Academy Fellowship and the Underwater Society of America are jointly and solely responsible for nomination and selection of NOGI Award winners. Each year, AUAS invites Academy fellows to recommend nominees for the NOGI Awards. To recommend future NOGI recipients, please consult the roster of NOGI Fellows to determine a contact person.

Home | The NOGI | Officers & Directors | Zale Parry Scholarship | Memorabilia | Current NOGI | Links of Interest
NOGI Awards Gala | Sponsorship Info | Contact Us

Copyright 2008, Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences